Articles on: Features

Team, project and file permission intro

Fabrie supports multi-person collaboration for file editing, whether working remotely or face-to-face, sharing files with team members can help align project tasks quickly and improve collaboration effectiveness! As collaborators usually have different roles and levels of participation, we can customize the file's permission settings. Let's take a detailed look at how to operate it.

Fabrie provides permission management solutions at the team, project, and file levels, protecting data security and assisting team and project management.

Team Permission Management



Each Fabrie user has at least one team. There are three roles in each team: super administrator, administrator, and ordinary member. Click the team name on the left sidebar of the dashboard to go to the team settings page to set the permission roles of each team member.



There is only one super administrator per team, and administrators and ordinary members are not required for every team.

Project Permission Management



Each team supports file management through "projects." Each project supports external sharing. You can click the "share project" button in the upper right corner after entering the project file management page to share the project externally.



Project Member Permissions



The permission of the file in the project is related to the user role in the team. You can quickly change the permission according to the user role:

Everyone in the team can edit (default): After selecting this option, all members of the team that the project belongs to can edit this file.
Everyone in the team can read: After selecting this option, all members of the team that the file belongs to can view this file but cannot edit it.
Restrict project access (team plan required): Suitable for creating private projects within the team. After selecting this option, even if the project visitor gets the file link, they cannot see or edit this file unless they are invited to collaborate.



File Permission Management



The file is the smallest unit in the Fabrie collaboration system, and multiple collaborative files can be created in each team project. There are three types of user roles in the file:

File owner;
View only visitor;
File collaborator with editing permission;

A file has only one administrator.

Authorization of team members and external collaborators

You can view or adjust file permissions and collaborator permissions that have entered the file through the "Share" button in the upper right corner of the file page. Using the "All team members" and "visitors" permission options above, you can decide what permissions new collaborators should get when they enter the file, or batch adjust the permissions of team/internal/external collaborators. The list below will display all collaborators who have entered this file and their current roles.



For files in team projects, if the project permission is "Everyone in the team can edit", the file is visible to all team members in the current team. The file administrator can set the file to "Can read" or "Can edit" for team members.

If members outside the team need to access the file, you can enable file sharing link to the public, and adjust permissions accordingly.

Note that opening permissions to Internet visitors means that the link to this file is a publicly available link on the network, and anyone who obtains the link can enter the file. Please pay attention to data security.

In the collaborator list below, non-team internal collaborators will be labeled as "external."

Permission Lock



From the collaborator list below, you can lock the role of a collaborator. After locking, batch permission changes will not affect the role obtained by the collaborator.



The role of a collaborator that has been manually modified by the file administrator will be automatically locked.

Advanced settings



The team plan provides advanced permission settings, making it easier for administrators to more finely control document permissions.



The adjustable advanced permissions are as follows:

Who can enable and disable guest links: This setting allows administrators to control who can enable and disable guest links for files. Guest links allow anyone with the link to view and edit the file, even if they are not a member of the team.
Who can manage file collaborators: This setting allows administrators to control who can add, remove, and manage file collaborators. Collaborators are users who have been granted access to a file, but do not have the same permissions as team members.
Who can download, export, or create copies of files: This setting allows administrators to control who can download, export, or create copies of files. This can be useful for organizations that need to protect sensitive information.
Who can lock and unlock whiteboard objects: This setting allows administrators to control who can lock and unlock whiteboard objects. This can be useful for organizations that need to prevent users from accidentally deleting or changing important information.
Whether or not guests who have a link to a file can request to edit the file when the link is not enabled for external access: This setting allows administrators to control whether or not guests who have a link to a document can request to edit the document. This can be useful for organizations that want to allow guests to view and comment on file, but not edit them.



These advanced permission settings can help administrators better protect document security and assign different permissions to different users according to actual needs.

So, have you learned everything? If you have any questionsor need further clarification, feel free to ask!

Updated on: 14/11/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!